CRF Blog

2010 George Polk Awards

by Bill Hayes

In February, Long Island University announced the 2010 winners of the George Polk Award, given each year for special achievement in journalism. Among the awards given were:

George Polk Award for Foreign Reporting to Clifford J. Levy and Ellen Barry of the New York Times for Above the Law, their series on corruption and the abuse of power in Russia.

George Polk Award for Environmental Reporting to the Associated Press for its Coverage of the Gulf Oil Spill.

Thirteen awards in all were given out. On the site, you can click on links to find the articles and radio and television pieces that won.

Previous Award Winners, dating back to 1949, when the awards began, can also be found, but links to the journalism are available only back to 2007.